top of page
Search
  • stevenebrown

The stages of restoring a part

If there is no damage to a part, these are the stages of restoring it:


First, you assess it for damage and photo document the condition:



This hood hinge in is pretty good shape albeit dirty and surface rusted.


Next, media blasting/cleaning:



Then, you clean with brake cleaner and put on two coats of primer and 3 coats of whatever color you want. In this case, matte black.



Altogether, I probably have less than 20 minutes in this part because I do several parts at once.


IF I had to just do the hinge and had to wait on just it for coats to be done it would be more like and hour and a half or two hours. It pays to wait until you have several parts to refinish.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New parts arriving soon

I had to get new head bolts due to corrosion. I ordered stock replacements from headbolts.com for under $60 with shipping. They should be here Saturday. I was cleaning up the rockers and noticed the

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page